Browse Services

Members & Subcommittees

Citizens Safety Task Force

Mayor Demings' Seal

About The Members

Orange County Mayor Jerry L. Demings convened the first Citizens Safety Task Force in November 2020. The Task Force is led by co-chairs Jim Coffin and Rod Love along with 30+ members from the community to include young adults, youth mentors, faith-based leaders, behavioral health professionals, community advocates, law enforcement, education and prevention professionals, and service-based organizations. The Citizens Safety Task Force’s goal is to reduce and prevent gun violence and violent crime in the community.


  • Jim Coffin, Executive Director, Interfaith Council
  • Rod Love, President, Community Synergy Group, Inc.

Members & Subcommittees

Prevention Subcommittee

Role Name
Co-Chair Lisa Early, Families, Parks & Recreation, City of Orlando
Co-Chair Pastor Gabriel Salguero, The Gathering Place & National Latino Evangelical Coalition
Member Ruth Cedeno, Orange County Representative, District 3
Member Mimi Chan, Wah Lum Temple & Host of Culture Chat Podcast
Member Lisa Coffey, Social Services, Orange County Public Schools
Member Eric Debose, Retired, Orange County Sheriff’s Office & Youth Mentor
Member Myesha Murray, Apopka Boys & Girls Club
Member Javier Andres Pineiro, Orange County Representative, District 4
Member Andres Toro, Orange County Resident
Member T.J. Legacy-Cole, Orange County Representative, District 6

Intervention Subcommittee

Role Name
Co-Chair Bishop Kelvin Cobaris, The Impact Church of Orlando
Co-Chair Samantha Love, Orange County Public Schools & Restore Orlando HOG
Member Rachel Allen, Peace and Justice Institute, Valencia College
Member Rolando Bailey, Orange County Representative, District 2
Member Charles Brown, Bridges International
Member Cory Austin Jackson, Valencia College Student
Member Miles Mulrain, Jr., Activist and Founder of Let Your Voice Be Heard
Member Ruben Saldaña, Founder of Ru Camp, Orange County Representative District 5

Enforcement Subcommittee

Role Name
Co-Chair Patricia Rumph, Pine Hills Community Council
Co-Chair Terence Gray, Sr. Pastor, St. Mark AME Church
Member Fernando Cuevas III, Orange County Representative, District 1 
Member Alondra Gittelson, Marjorie Stoneman Douglas High School Survivor & University of Central Florida Student
Member Ricky Ly, Jacobs and Advocate
Member Honorable John Mina, Orange County Sheriff (Major Carlos Torres, Orange County Sheriff’s Office serving on behalf of the Sheriff)
Member Chief Mike McKinley, Apopka Police Department & Orange/Osceola County Chiefs of Police
Member Nancy Oesch, Adjunct Professor, Florida Technical College
Member Chief Orlando Rolon, Orlando Police Department

Prosecution Subcommittee

Role Name
Co-Chair Patricia Brigham, League of Women Voters of Florida
Co-Chair Bishop-Elect Derrick McRae, The Experience Christian Center and African American Council of Christian Clergy
Member Honorable Aramis Ayala, State Attorney, Ninth Judicial Circuit
Member Jonathan Cox, Ph.D., Department of Sociology, University of Central Florida
Member Roger Handberg, US Attorney’s Office, Middle District of Florida
Member Adam Hartnett, Poverty Solutions Group & Circles of Central Florida
Member Subhash Kateel, Alliance for Safety and Justice
Member Michael Scott, My Brother’s Keeper & Helping All Youth Achieve “HAYA”